Why do you craft?

Standard

Photo from Etsy Blog

Crafters are an odd lot. Okay, speaking for myself – I am an odd lot! I craft primarily because I can’t help myself. Creativity, like writing and reading,  are deep-set needs for me. I craft because it is part of who I am. I craft for gifts, I craft for charity, and sometimes I craft for money. But I subscribe mostly to the theory that I craft because I can, because it is necessary, because it expresses love and hope.

Over time, I have spent hours researching websites and books to learn new crafts, to meet new people, and to discover new techniques and ways to express myself artistically, craftily. Browsing the ‘net, I found these sites that have also pondered the question – why do you craft? (Site names below are clickable links if you want to read what crafters had to say there.)

Capadia Designs

The ProvoCraft Cricut Community

The Simplest

And yet, wherever I go, the answers, both long-winded or short, seem to be about the same.

  • I craft for fun.
  • I craft because it saves me money on gifts
  • I craft because I have the talent to do so
  • I craft because I inherited the love of crafting from a parent or grandparent
  • I craft because it is “my time” to do things I enjoy
  • I craft because it allows me to express myself
  • It is a way to relax and get away from the world
  • It helps me deal with stress and to center myself
  • I can create things that are unique and not “made in China” cookie-cutter type art
  • Crafting = Therapy
  • It helps pass the time and/or it keeps my hands busy so I don’t (eat) (drink) (sleep)

SO, why do you craft?! Respond in a comment below, or simply spend some time thinking about why you involve yourself in crafty pursuits. And while you are commenting, or thinking about the role crafting plays in your life, pick out a new technique or skill to master! Mine is going to be felting…>>>

About ReaderWoman

Professional reader and researcher for writers - Reviewer and Editor for online book review sites - AVID reader (well, duh!) writer, crafter (sewing, jewelry, fiber art) photographer, herb gardener, love to learn new things - Married 3842 years, 2 "kids" (now 34 and 36) and two grands (13 and 15) Born and raised California Girl, with stints in Tennessee, learning to speak Southern, and Arizona, learning that living in a trailer is NOT fun! Enjoy conversations with wine and chocolate, long walks and being with hubby and family. Life is good!

4 responses »

  1. I cross stitch and sew for my group, World of Charity Stitching, because it helps me relax and gives me joy to be able to use my gifts of stitching to give to charity. We make lap quilts for senior citizens and for children in a domestic violence shelter. It is a very rewarding hobby and I am glad I am able to help make a senior or child smile.

Leave a Reply

